Dr. Eriberto D. Salang has been appointed Dean of the College of Agriculture of Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) in the Philippines, effective 16 October 2010.

Dr. Salang, Associate Professor, is a SEARCA graduate alumnus having completed his PhD in Soil Science from the University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB) in April 2010 under SEARCA’s PhD Research Scholarship Program.   Among the outstanding graduate students of UPLB, he was conferred the Academic Achievement Award.  His PhD research was Soil Carbon Sequestration under Conservation Tillage Systems on Faraon and Adtuyon Series of Zamboanga Peninsula, Philippines. The research findings were presented during a special public seminar of the Agriculture and Development Seminar Series (ADSS) at SEARCA.  



academics and experts on agricultural and rural development recently participated in a National Conference on Agricultural Education for Better Farming and Better Living.

Conducted on 9 December 2010 in Semarang, Indonesia, the Conference was organized by the Indonesian SEARCA Scholar Fellows Association (ISFA), with support from

SEARCA and the University of Diponegoro.




Prof. Dr. Bunasor Sanim, President Commissioner of Bank Rakyat Indonesia and a SEARCA graduate alumnus, delivers his presentation during the ISFA National Conference held in Semarang, Indonesia on 9 December 2010.


The Philippine Society for the Study of Nature, Inc. will hold its Annual Scientific Conference on 24-28 May 2011 at the Centennial Learning Center, UP Open University, Los Baños, Laguna. With the theme "Scientific and Technological Innovations for Environmental and Disaster Management," the conference aims to discuss research on science and technology in/for natural resource conservation, environmental education, nature and governance, upland environment, socio-cultural perspectives on the environment, climate change adaptation, and many more.

One of the highlights of the event is the Best Thesis and Scientific Paper Competition. Deadline for submission of manuscripts for the competition is 12 March 2011. Submission guidelines and additional information on the conference can be viewed at

Below are the other important dates for the conference:
5 March 2011 – Deadline for the submission of abstracts
26 March 2011 - Notice of acceptance/release of best paper (first evaluation)
16 April 2011 – Deadline for advanced conference registration

Dr. Inocencio E. Buot, Jr., a Filipino SEARCA alumnus, was recently cited as an outstanding botanist for his significant contributions to Philippine botany. The award was conferred during the University of the Philippines Los Baños’ celebration of the centennial anniversary of botany in the university held on 7-10 December 2010.

Dr. Buot is a professor of ecology and systematics of the UPLB Institute of Biological Sciences and concurrent Dean of the Faculty of Management and Development Studies of the UP Open University.

Dr. Buot has devoted a big part of his professional life to local biodiversity and conservation work. For this, in 2007, Dr. Dale Kloppenburg, a world renowned American botanist and Hoya plant specialist, named a new Hoya species in honor of Dr. Buot. Called, hoya boutii, the plant was discovered in Mt. Banahaw, a mountain in the Sierra Madre mountain range in northern Philippines. It belongs to plant genus Hoya and is endemic to southern Asia, Australia, and Polynesia.


Indonesia's Bogor Agricultural University (IPB) recently feted one of its illustrious sons, Prof. Dr. Bunasor Sanim, professor of economics, during a ceremony marking his retirement from the university. Concurrently serving as President Commissioner of Bank Rakyat Indonesia, Prof. Dr. Bunasor has mentored

many IPB students; among them is President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono. Through SEARCA's Graduate Scholarship Program, Prof. Bunasor was able to pursue and obtain his PhD degree in forest resources management from the University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB) in 1986.



Dr. Jupiter V. Casas was recently appointed as Dean of the College of Forestry of Central

Mindanao State University, effective 10 January 2011. A graduate alumnus of SEARCA, Dr. Casas finished the PhD in forest resource management from the University of the Philippines Los Baños in 2009 under SEARCA’s Graduate Scholarship Program.  He obtained his MS in tropical forestry from the Wageningen Agricultural University, Wageningen, The Netherlands, in 1996.

Dr. Casas joined CMU as Instructor in June 1991 and was Associate Professor 2 and Chair of various departments of CMU at the time of his appointment as Dean.  He is also currently the Executive Director of Mindanao Integrated Management Foundation (MINMAF), Inc.  As a social forestry expert, he is actively involved in providing technical assistance to community-based forest resource management projects in the province of Mindanao, Southern Philippines.



We bid adieu to Prof. Didiek Rahmadi of the Faculty of Animal Agriculture, University of Diponegoro, Indonesia, who died on 15 January 2011. Prof. Didiek served as President of the Indonesian SEARCA Scholars and Fellows Association (ISFA) from July 2001 to December 2010.

"SEARCA remembers Prof. Didiek as a nice and always happy person, who was a friend to all. We are grateful for his leadership of the Indonesian SEARCA Scholars and Fellows Association (ISFA),” said Dr. Gil C. Saguiguit, Jr., SEARCA Director, in his letter

to Mrs Kusrahayu, wife of Prof. Didiek.


Prof. Didiek was a SEARCA scholar from 1985 to 1988, obtaining the PhD degree in animal science from UPLB.



 The National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) Philippines had conferred one of its four 2010 Outstanding Books to a publication by Dr. Teotimo M. Aganon, a SEARCA graduate alumnus (PhD, entomology, 1989, University of the Philippines Los Banos) who is currently Vice President for Research, Extension, and Training of Central Luzon State University (CLSU), Philippines.

The publication is titled Protected Vegetable Cultivation: Management Option and Economic Potential.It was co-published by CLSU and the Bureau of Agricultural Research of the Department of Agriculture (DA-BAR), Philippines. It is so far the only local publication in the Philippines on protected vegetable cultivation, a long time practice in temperate countries and an emerging technology in the Philippines.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Manila Hotel during the NAST 32nd Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) on 14-15 July 2010, whose theme was MDGs and Beyond: Are we making progress?